Missouri-St Louis
Options

Catholic churches

I know there are several great Catholic churches in the St. Louis area, but I don't really know anything about any off them.  My fiance and I don't live in St. Louis, but oour families do, so that is where we are planning to get married.  Can anyone give suggestions on good churches to get married in and the prices?  Seems like most of the churches charge around $800-850, which I feel like is expensive, but I'm new at this.  Thanks for the help!

Re: Catholic churches

• Options
    edited December 2011
    Well, you could start with your family's parish. I'm assuming either yours or his or both are Catholic, so that's where I'd begin. Check out what churches they attend. I'm Catholic, and so I know that the various parishes have different rules about who can get married there...sometimes you have to be a registered parishoner to get the lower rental rate. Or you may have to get permission from the Church you currently attend to get married at another church. You could also go to the St. Louis Archdiocese website, b/c they have full listings of all the churches here in St. Louis. One final thought...I'd really make finding a church a priority b/c although each priest/parish is different, you're going to have to go thru pre-cana classes and some type of couples prep, like the Engaged Encounter Weekend. This takes time and you dont want to put it off til last minute. Good Luck!
    Photobucket Anniversary BabyFruit Ticker BabyFetus Ticker
  • Options
    edited December 2011
    I think the cheapest church I looked at is $600ish.
    White Knot
    Stand up for something you believe in. White Knot
  • Options
    tiffers434tiffers434 member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    I'm in LOVE with my church, St. Francis Xavier on SLU's campus. It's 900 plus 160 for a cantor and pianst, each, but it is gorgeous!

Just a thought!
  • Options
    edited December 2011