California-Los Angeles

Jewelry District vs. Blue Nile?

I live in Paso Robles. BF is currently shopping (well, having me shop) for my engagement ring. I'm looking for something pretty simple - cathedral solitaire setting with either scrollwork or a surprise diamond on the side, with a .4-.45 ct round center stone. The quality of the diamond is important to me - ideal/excellent cut, at least VS2 clarity, excellent symmetry/polish.

Blue Nile has what I want for around $1,000 (~$375 setting/~$650 stone), but I'm wondering if it would be worth it to visit the Jewelry District in LA. The price would have to be quite a bit better to justify the trip, especially with the current gas prices. What do you ladies think?

Re: Jewelry District vs. Blue Nile?

• You should try calling some stores in downtown la to find out what their prices look like and you can know if it's worth going down there. I'm not good with diamond prices so I wouldn;t be able to compare but since you seem to know a lot about it maybe you can compare before going to la.
  • I can't speak for the jewelry district but I have had multiple purchases from Blue Nile (this is where my engagement ring is from). I have to say, Blue Nile has been awesome in every single interaction I've had with them. FI originally picked out the engagement ring band and searched through all of their diamonds to find the perfect center stone - well, he wasn't crazy about the band once it arrived. Blue Nile helped me to find something comparable in price and that met my requirements. I was able to send the original ring back, they kept the same center stone and put it in the new band.

Also, when we order our wedding bands, we get some type of discount.

That's just my two cents. But I do agree with PP, definitely call some shops in the jewerly district - maybe you can find the highest rated ones on Yelp?!

Hope that helps! :)