Hawaii

August vs January wedding

I'm a complete newbie and need to decide between an August 2012 wedding and a January 2013 wedding. We'll probably have 60+ guest over at a private estate in South Maui/ Makena area. I want to do my best to keep travel cost down for our guest and flights are showing up as a lot cheaper in January vs August, but see there's more chance of rain in January.

Any thoughts on which time of year is better, would be much appreciated!

Re: August vs January wedding

• breanessbreaness member
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker First Comment
    edited December 2011
    Even though there's a higher chance of rain in january, you're looking at the south side where there's very little rain anyway. It doesn't make that much of a difference. That being said, we chose the "dry season" just to be safe. Makena is beautiful. You will love it. Aside from Hana, Makena is my favorite.
  • edited December 2011
    Welcome & congrats!!

Flights to Hawaii definitely can be cheaper in January because most people don't travel then.  The holidays are a popular time to Hawaii so January is often low season for airfare and resorts.  However, the reason it's low is also because most people spent a lot of money and vacation time on the holidays, so travelling in January can also be difficult for many.  We went with March, and well, that overlapped with Spring Break, so no matter what you do, you will run into some hiccups.

It also depends what you want from your wedding.  If everything is hosted inside the private estate, rain shouldn't really affect you.  If you are set on an outdoor wedding, you'll definitely need a tent as a backup plan (but I would encourage that regardless of January or August).