Students
Options

anyone starting med school this fall?

im starting med school in the fall for neurosurgery and i can honestly say that its going to be extremely stressful !!

juggling work, school, and wedding planning...total exhaustion. =(

i just hope my other half has an understanding for my mood swings. ;)

Re: anyone starting med school this fall?

• Options
    Hi!  I'm graduating from med school in 20 days (but who's counting?) and I'm going into OB/GYN.  It's tough but I actually really liked it.  My FI is also a medical student (about to be a fourth year), which worked out well for us - he totally "got" what I was going through.  Anyway, it's all doable, just do your best to manage your time well. Good luck!! :)
  • Options
    Melanie, CONGRATS!!!

thanks for the luck, im definitely going to need it!
  • Options
    I am a current first year student...like Melanie already said, it's completely doable you just have to find the balance.  When are you getting married?  My FI didn't move with me but visits every other weekend, so I just schedule everything so I am stress free when he is here...well as stress free as I can be!  My classmates that live with their significant other have a set date night so every say Thursday night they go out to dinner or whatever.  During orientation (which seems like yesterday by the way) our Dean compared med school to running in a marathon, which I thought was a great analogy.  I think you have to keep this mentality all along or you will burn out.  And most importantly...take care of yourself!!!! Yes, it's easier to stop at Wendy's or McD's on the way home than to cook a nutritious meal...however staying healthy is so important.  Also, do not underestimate the awesome-ness of note cards!!! They are so study-anywhere-friendly; which means depending on what your job is you can easily multitask!!  

As far as the wedding planning part - use your support! Ask FI, your bridal party, Mom and any other sources you have for help!