Arizona-Phoenix
Options

Laser Hair removal

Has anyone done this? Was it painful? Was it worth it?

Thanks!

Re: Laser Hair removal

• Options
    belgirlbelgirl member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    I don't know if you subscribe to Groupon.com, but they came out with a deal for laser hair removal today--6 treatments for $99 at Deseret Aesthetic & Lifestyle Institute in Mesa.  Pretty good deal!
  • Options
    LedZeppelinLedZeppelin member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    I actually do this for a living, so I'd be happy to answer questions for you. (and no I'm not trying to advertise myself. lol)

I have done it to myself quite a few times. It does work, but there are a lot of variables. It works best on dark hair.

It does hurt, but it is tolerable. You can take a pain reliever before your treatment and that helps sometimes. Also, do not have caffeine before your appointment and try to avoid getting it done right before or during your period. It makes you more sensitive and often hurts more.

My biggest caution, is do NOT go to American Laser Centers. They are terrible and will rip you off. and do your research on whoever you decide to go with.
    Photobucket
  • Options
    sboobear03sboobear03 member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    LedZeppelin- I am curious to why no caffeine right before?
  • Options
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    The stimulants in it make you more sensitive, thus the treatment will be more painful.

It also can make you anxious. I have had a lot of people say that the anxiety before the treatment is worse than the actual treatment. It's almost like you're psyching yourself out, if that makes sense.The caffeine can exacerbate this feeling.
    Photobucket
  • Options
    sboobear03sboobear03 member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    Ok now it makes sense!  :-)
  • Options
    edited December 2011