New York-Long Island

Winery wedding vs hall

Hey ladies! this is my first time posting on here, newly engaged and looking at a fall wedding for next year. We live out east on LI and I'm wondering what are some of the pros and cons to each wedding, winery/vineyard vs a hall?. I would love to have our wedding out east at one of the winery's, but I'm not sure if it would mean a lot more work and a lot more money?. -Thanks!

Re: Winery wedding vs hall

• edited December 2011
    Martha's Vineyard is amazing and unique. You can choose a hall but they are wedding mills and could do more than one wedding in a day (most of them anyway). One thing you know for sure, you will have good wine.
  • edited December 2011
    You have to be careful because some of the wineries require a site fee and require outside catering and chairs.  Which could add up
    Michelle Wedding Countdown Ticker
  • positivelypositively member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    The problem with most and I think all of the winderies is that you have to bring in a caterer (could be expensive), tables/chairs/tent, liquor might be separate and most of them charge a grounds fee.

But don't givd up keep searching.
  • lorr2002lorr2002 member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    i agree with PP, the winery's can get expensice since you have to bring EVERTHING in (from tables and chairs to butter knives and salt & pepper shakers)  and site fees are at least $5000 (at least they were 5 years ago).  i would have LOVED to get married at Raphael vinyard, but it was insanly expensive. 
    you could try the "vinyard caterer"  they are a vinyard and a catering hall all in one! GL
    BabyFruit Ticker
  • edited December 2011