Christian Weddings

I just need to talk about it.

So I know I don't post on here a lot but I have got to talk about this before I go off on everyone around me.

FI and I had originally set our date for June 29, 2013....Then changed it to June 22, 2013 because it was too close to July 4th and we would have to pay holiday rates on the honeymoon. I am still in college. FI has just recently got this awesome new job. I just paid off my car and FI is in the process of buying a new himself a new one because his is basically dead. It's pretty safe to say that we aren't financially in the spot were we are comfortable getting married. Like I said before, I am a college student...a college student who works part-time but after a cell phone bill, car insurance, lunch and gas...there isn't much left. So we have decided to put the wedding off until sometime in 2014, Lord willing.

Since we have put it off, it's like everyone other than our families (who think this is a very smart idea for us to put it off and are 100% supportive) are upset about it. "Why did you put the wedding off?!" "Are you not ready to get married?" "John, I told you they wouldn't get married. See, I was right." "That's stupid."....
Umm seriously? Since when is being responsible stupid? Is it really any of your business when we choose to get married? Did I miss the part where you paying for the wedding? Because last I checked, me and my parents footed the bill.

People are ignorant. Just because a person has a long engagement doesn't in anyway mean they aren't ready to get married. We want to be financially stable going into a marriage, and that is what we are going to do, thank you very much.

Sorry for the rant...I just seriously had to get that out my system

Wedding Countdown Ticker

Re: I just need to talk about it.