May 2012 Weddings

Last Name Change

2»

Re: Last Name Change

• Wow ... I'm feeling so alone on this board in my decision to keep my name. It's wierd, because all of my good friends that have married have kept their names, too.
  • I am planning to keep my maiden name professionally for the time being. I am a supply teacher, so am known by my last name and dont want to confuse people thinking I am some new teacher. Not to mention FMIL is a well known retired teacher in the area.. and not in a good way. So I dont want to constantly be compared to her. Once I have a contract position I will change it to FI last name.

Hyphenating doesnt really work, neither does using my maiden name as a middle name. My last name is Best, so if I hyphenated it it would make it sound like I was the Best of FIs Lastname

On a side note, every time I walk into a classroom I hear "is that really your last name?" "Are you really the Best".. and on and on and on.... EVERY DAY! lol. Best one I have heard to date was "What would you do if I called you ms mediocre?" I had to give him credit for being creative.
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • edited February 2012
    I'm taking his last name :) 
  • Taking his last name, I can't wait for when we're annouced as Mr. and Mrs. Hislastname at the wedding! :-)
  • In Response to <a href="http://forums.theknot.com/Sites/theknot/Pages/Main.aspx/wedding-club-boards_may-2012-weddings_last-name-change?plckFindPostKey=Cat:Wedding%20Club%20BoardsForum:f0ca0bc1-9255-4120-8042-b40e7f3e99c5Discussion:f72d197a-020c-42e2-a130-1d0abe0df248Post:42ffff34-7428-4a4f-9c02-75b6f40fdc51">Re: Last Name Change</a>:
    [QUOTE]Wow ... I'm feeling so alone on this board in my decision to keep my name. It's wierd, because all of my good friends that have married have kept their names, too.
    Posted by Lyra1020[/QUOTE]

<div>
    </div><div>I know tons of people who have kept their last name! It's pretty common in my circle too. </div><div>