Nevada-Las Vegas

Elope!

Hi everyone!

I'm new to the site and board and just looking for ideas.

My guy and I are seriously considering eloping to Vegas to get married. I'm an event planner by profession, but am finding it is MUCH easier plan events for other people. I'm not one for a "big show," which is one of the reasons I want to elope and am not interested in spending a ton of money on a reception...which, unfortunately would happen if we did it the "traditional" way as we both have many friends and family members whose feelings would be hurt if they were not invited. Neither of us want our parents to dish out the money for such an event either.

My boyfriend and I met at a wedding (I was in it, he was a good friend of the groom's) last year, and we have tossed around the idea of asking the bride/groom of that wedding to come with us as witnesses. Regardless, I am a little nervous that a few of our other good friends might be upset. Thoughts? Has anyone ever regretted eloping and not having at least one close friend with you?

We are also thinking about having a party at our house when we get home as a "reception." I have access to tents/tables/chairs because of my profession, so the cost would be limited. Any ideas for reception after elopement?

Thanks for your thoughts everyone!

Re: Elope!

• aerinpegadrakaerinpegadrak member
    5 Love Its Combo Breaker First Comment
    edited December 2011
    How would your parents feel about this?  I know multiple people who have very strained relationships with their parents, if they're even on speaking terms at all, because the parents weren't invited to their child's wedding.  Even if you do want something small and intimate, you should at least invite your parents and consider including your siblings.