Students

young and in love...and in need of advice

I'm in my final semester in college and just got engaged last month! and I couldn't be more excited. but i'm getting the feeling like i'm the only one that feels that way. a lot of my family feels that i'm too young, or haven't experienced enough yet. My Fiance and I met in our first year in college, and now this is my last semester, so its almost been 3 and a half years. and when i get married in a year and a half i'll be 23. i do know i'm young but i believe when you find the person that you want to spend the rest of your life with why wait? i just need advice as to what do to about my family thats not terribly supportive, and will they come around eventually? i just want to plan my wedding with my mom! :)

Re: young and in love...and in need of advice

• I am in the same situation! I got engaged this past summer just before starting year 2 of 3 of my graduate schooling. When I told my mom she was in complete disbelief and kept telling me that I "needed to finish school". I will be married this Christmas so I won't actually be done school yet and that has taken my mom a bit of time to come around to. I have found the closer we get to the date the more excited and involved my family has become, especially my mom. Just give her some time to get used to the idea :)
  • Give them some time to come around. My mom really didn't care about the wedding at first, just whether or not I was going to finish school. On the other hand, my mom has never really been the girly kind so I wasn't expecitng her to go all out over stuff (for that matter, I'm the same way). Stop for a moment and try to consider your mom - is she the type to go all out on stuff like this? Or is she like my mom who would rather plow the garden than tie ribbon around bubbles? I'm sure your mom will eventually warm up to the idea but keep realistic expectations.