Minnesota-Minneapolis and St. Paul

Question about Shoes

I also posted this in the attire board but I thought I would put it on the local board as well to get any help that I could :) This is my first time ever asking a question on here but I know everyone is absolutely wonderful and beyond helpful so I'm looking forward to what you have to share :) I've been looking for shoes for my June wedding and think I may have actually found them! I've been looking for shoes in hopes of dyeing them Lapis (the David's Bridal color) to match my bridesmaids' dresses and was told that you can dye almost any white shoe. My question is, do you think these be dyeable with the rhinestones? (Link below)
http://www.lightinthebox.com/Satin-Upper-Mid-Heels-Strappy-Sandals--Wedding-Bridal-Shoes--0796-1001--More-Colors-Available_p162704.html

I wouldn't want the stones to get ruined... Also, my fiance' is only 1" taller than I am (I'm 5' 9" and he's 5' 10") and I really don't want to be taller than him on our wedding day with shoes. How much height will he get from his shoes that he gets with his tux?

Thank you all so much in advance! :)

Re: Question about Shoes

• edited December 2011
    I don't know much about dyeable shoes, but if you bring in a picture to David's Bridal, they should be able to tell you. Honestly, I'd be a little suspicious of the claim that you can dye "almost any" white shoe. Maybe ask around at a few boutiques to get second opinions?

As for shoe height, men's dress shoes don't add much at all. I'm not the best at estimating measurements, but I would guess 1/2 inch at most. You're probably still a ways away from registering for tuxes, but you could always have your fiance try on similar dress shoes at a shoe store so you can get a better idea of what his height will be.
  • edited December 2011