Snarky Brides
Options

New construction houses

Tim and I have been searching for our dream home for well over a year with no luck, so we decided to go with new construction. We went with our realtor last weekend to look at some models and then she took us to meet with the builder yesterday. We told him everything we want and the proposal should be ready sometime today.

The builder and our bank make everything sound like flowers and sunshine, but I'm still a little worried because I have no first hand experience with new construction.

Does anyone have any insight they could share about glitches that could possibly pop up?
imageimage

Re: New construction houses

• Options
    Hi!  Miss you girls over here...

We are currently building.  It started with a 9  month long wait short sale that fell through and we were devestated.  When we couldn't find a house we both liked that was in our price range, we opted to check out new builds.  DH was SO against it, but my parents always built and it is what I remember from my childhood.

The BEST part about building is that you can pick EVERYTHING in your house.  The house will come with basics and then you can upgrade those basics.  Remember that they upcharge most upgrades throughout the house..that is where they get you.  The base price could be 169 and you end up paying 190 in the long run.  

Our bank is paying our PMI for us for a .1 higher interest rate.  We also asked for free upgrades and they gave us some.  Builders have one thing they need to do-build.

We are SO excited and VERY happy with our decision.  We broke ground in late January and it should be done within the next month.  It is also super fun to check the progress being made day by day!

It's time. Adoption saving and process started in November 2012.
    Image and video hosting by TinyPic Image and video hosting by TinyPic
  • Options
    Hi barb!