Honeymoon Discussions
Options

Driving to Florida Honeymoon-Suggestions and Advice Please!

HI!
My Fiance and I will be driving to Disney where our honeymoon will be. We want to drive and stop at states along the way. He is from Europe so has never taken to drive to Florida...we have always flown together.

List your advice from experience including times to leave, places to stay and stop along the way, and places we CANNOT miss! Im an avid photographer, so if you have some great photographs from your trip down tell me where!

We are getting married October 14th. We have to be in Disney on the 19th. So we could leave the 15th-the 17th. We kinda want to leave the 15th, stop along the way and get into Orlando early for Sea World-FI's never been-and Universal.

Looking forward to your suggestions!
Wedding Countdown Ticker

Re: Driving to Florida Honeymoon-Suggestions and Advice Please!

• Options
    If I was driving down the East Coast of the US, I would most definitely stop at The Great Smokey Mountains.  I hear it's absolutely beautiful.  I know they have loops you can drive to see more than going straight through it.  Research it a little bit to pick the best route!
  • Options
    strlzfan11strlzfan11 member
    First Anniversary First Comment Combo Breaker
    edited August 2012
    Well if you're coming from NJ, your best bet will be to stick to the I-95 corridor.  If I were driving and wanted to see Sea World and Universal before I got to Disney on the 19th, I'd do the following:

-Leave on the 15th and stay near Hilton Head or Savannah (it's probably going to be at least a 12 hour drive, though)
    -Spend the morning of 16th in Savannah relaxing and doing touristy things
    -Drive to Orlando (about 5 hours from Svannah) late afternoon/early evening of the 16th
    -Go to Sea World on the 17th
    -Go to Universal on the 18th and early on the 19th
    -Check into your Disney hotel mid-afternoon of the 19th