Just Engaged and Proposals

Eventually in a proposal

I am new to all this wedding stuff and I have a major question about the whole proposal thing. My boyfriend and I have been together for 3 years and our first year together he bought me a ring and he asked me if I would "eventually" marry him. Does this make it a promise ring? I thought it was more of a promise because we are waiting for me to get done with school (although I would like to get married soon) He was telling people it was an engagement ring so I am confused. I know he is new to the concept of rings and all but how can we be engaged if he doesn't talk about getting married and we aren't planning a wedding. I feel like I am pushing him when I bring the issue up and I would just like some feedback on this. I don't want to keep pushing him and I understand the reason to wait but at the same time I want to talk about it. Thanks for reading!

Re: Eventually in a proposal

• If he didn't ask you to marry him, then I wouldn't consider myself engaged. H and I used to talk about marriage all the time, but I didn't consider us engaged until he proposed. It would be problematic for me if he was running around telling people we were engaged and I didn't feel that way. I do think you need to bring it up to him. Just say that you don't consider this an engagement ring because you don't feel like he's really asked you to marry him/you haven't decided to get married. You two definitely need to be on the same page.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Vacation
  • In Response to <a href="http://forums.theknot.com/Sites/theknot/Pages/Main.aspx/wedding-boards_just-engaged-proposals_eventually-in-a-proposal?plckFindPostKey=Cat:Wedding%20BoardsForum:683Discussion:3ebcc8a3-d313-4215-a030-2a87de658852Post:337ead41-ed2a-41a2-80f7-2941ae7e1b0e">Re: Eventually in a proposal</a>: