Registry and Gift Forum
Options

Wine glasses at BBB

I'm looking to register for some wine glasses at BBB but I'm relatively new to the wine world and don't really know what to look for. Is it ok to register for just white/ red wine glasses, or do you have to have both? Any brands that are good or that we should stay away from? Thanks!

Re: Wine glasses at BBB

• Options
    Riedel is probably the best line that BBB sells.  You want thin glasses that are shaped correctly.  If you aren't big wine drinkers, no need for two different kinds.  That said, now might be the time to get both red and white.  Red wine glasses tend to have a larger bowl than white wine glasses.  The glass does change the taste.
    Wedding Countdown Ticker
  • Options
    we did Luigi Bormioli "Michaelangelo" for all of our drinkware and have been happy.  yes - consider both red and white glasses (michealangelo set has various sizes...check the luigi bormioli site to see them all side by side)

I agree -- some sort of decanter or aerator would be a good idea as well.
  • Options
    Hrm, this is actually a pretty wide topic.

Technically speaking, each class of wine has it's own glass.  In fact, individual varietals can have their own (ie Pinot Nior).

However, to boil it down to something more sane, you should ask yourself which color of wine do you drink most?  Is it reds, or is it whites/rose?

If the answer is red, then you want glasses that have a bigger bowl, which will allow more air to strike the surface of the wine, and aerate it.
    f the answer is white, then you want glasses that have a narrower bowl, to keep the exposed wine surface smaller, and will retain low temperature that way.

I would personally advise that a host have a set of generic white wine glasses, and a set of generic red wine glasses.  That way they are prepared to serve both classes of wine to their guests, and can be flexible with food.