Students

Graduate School

I have been a full-time student the entire time that my FI and I have been together. I graduate in May with my Bachelor's degree and will get married in October. I always thought that I wanted to get my Master's degree, but the past few days I have thinking about how nice it will be to get a salary and not be in school. Have any of you ever flip-flopped like this? I think that I am going to apply to Grad. school just in case because I keep changing my mind. Also, FI is supportive either way!
Daisypath - Personal pictureDaisypath Wedding tickers

Re: Graduate School

• I kind of did.  I knew I wanted to go to grad school, but A. felt burnt out on school B. wanted to make some money before going back to being a poor student and C. needing a little more time to narrow down what program(s) I wanted to apply to.  I took 2 years off, worked in research, and am now in a PhD program.  In hindsight, best desicion I made!  PhD progams are so much work, if I wasn't completley sure it was the right time and fit, I don't think I'd be able to stick it out for 6 years.  Also, working gave me a ton of lab skills (I'm in biology) and relevant experience that I think helped me get into a better grad program than I could have straight out of school, and also helped me solidify what my actual long-term interests are.

I hope sharing my experience was helpful and that you'll be able to figure out what works for you :-)  Good luck!
  • I keep doing the same.  I'm graduating a year early from undergrad, and I'm so burned out right now.  If I do decide to go back to school I'll just go part time for my MBA, since that's the only thing I've really been super interested in so far.  Go ahead and apply, since it's easier to decide last minute that you want to go if you've already been accepted.
    Wedding Countdown Ticker PersonalMilestone