Iowa-Des Moines

Caterers that let you buy your own alcohol

Does anyone know or have an idea of which caterers (Gateway, Taste to Go, Christianis, etc.) let you buy your own alcohol for your reception? I've known people who did this at a wedding out of state and they saved a ton by doing their alcohol this way. I'm new to Des Moines, so I haven't been to any weddings here or know much about the caterers, but we'd like to purchase our own alcohol if possible. Do any caterers let you do that here?

Re: Caterers that let you buy your own alcohol

• I don't think it's necessarily the caterers who control that so much as the venue itself. You'll have to check with the venue you choose for the reception. Our venue didn't allow outside caterers as they did their own. (Izaak Walton League) They also had a bar in house, so no outside booze also. If you found alternative locations you may also have to look at what other regulations that have such as having to have an onsite police officer present while serving alcohol. Sometimes that is requirement of certain venues. We looked at having our reception at the Simpson Barn at first in Johnston which is close to our house, but since we are getting married August (1 week away Yay!) we were worried about the no air conditioning thing there.

So, in conclusion, I would first investigate the venue, because they may have restrictions on the caterer first and foremost and then they will let you know what they say on the booze.
    Wedding Countdown Ticker