Moms and Maids

Newbie here!! Bridesmaid dress advice!!

Okay so me & my husband have been married for a month now as of yesterday. We did a very small intimate wedding, immediate family only. Now we have plans to have something a little more traditional in October of this year with just renewing our vows and hosting a reception. We do still plan on having 4 bridesmaids and groomsmen stand up with us.

The theme of the wedding/reception is more of a vintage/rustic type of feel. I do realize it's a real fine line, but I definitely don't want country. Anyway, my MOH and I are having a hard time finding dresses for the girls. I've been told that you should allow a good 6 months before the wedding to have them chosen so they can be altered and all that. I am not however, opposed to them purchasing from different little boutiques and having each maid wear a different dress so long as they coincide with one another. This route would be cheaper, which I'm all for, but probably a lot more difficult. I've already tried to do a little hunting myself for dresses like these and am having no luck with finding what I have in mind as far as style and color. Does anybody have any suggestions?!? Thanks

Re: Newbie here!! Bridesmaid dress advice!!

• You only get one wedding, unless you get divorced. You already had it a month ago. You can have an awesome party celebrating your marriage, but without wedding elements.
  • With a vow renewal you should not have a wedding party.  You also shouldn't wear a huge wedding gown or have any of the traditional wedding elements, since, you know, it isn't a wedding.