Students

I need some unbiased advice

Hey Knotties, I need some advice that isn't from my family, work, or future in-laws. 

I am in my third year of college, and have racked up about 20,000 in student loans. It is going to take me another 2 years (4 semesters, I would graduate summer 2014) and another 20,000 in loans to finish my degree. Honestly, I am out of money and motivation. I am singlehandly paying for my schooling which is fine, but I am not comfortable taking out that much in loans because the job I want isn't a doctor, teacher, or lawyer. I want to be an event planner and the median salary isn't that high, I knew that going into it. Well now I am starting to think about transferring to get my associates opposed to a bachelors, but I would have it in Hospitality and Business instead of just the business major I am not all that fond of. I work in a bridal salon and I spoke with the owner to get her opinion and she said it's experience, not a degree, that really matters for this field of work. I also have spoken to others in this industry who have said the same thing.

My problem is that I just got engaged last month and my parents keep saying I have to finish school before I get married, which was going to happen anyways but it would take me less time and about 15,000 less to finish my associates instead of getting the bachelors degree I don't really need. I am scared my parents are going to say I am taking the easy way out by only getting my associates and should just continue on, and I am scared they will blame my recent engagement on me not wanting to finish the bachelors degree when the two are not correlated because I will be done with school either way for our October 2014 wedding. I am pretty sure I know what direction I want to take but it would be nice to get others inputs on this.

Thank you Smile

Re: I need some unbiased advice