Not Engaged Yet

Pre-wedding HELP!!!

We will be engaged any day now. We are getting married NEXT JUNE. (its the only time in our schedule to do it) My family lives in Georgia. His family lives in Washington state, Idaho, and Wyoming. We live in San Diego, CA. Where the hell do we get married on a LESS than $10,000 budget??? PLEASE HELP! Any ideas??

Re: Pre-wedding HELP!!!

• If you're goin to post on two boards, please put an XP in the title (XP= cross post).

I answered you on CC.

Again: WAIT UNTIL YOU'RE ENGAGED.

Figure your head count, add 10. Figure out what you want, where you can reduce, and where you can go without.
     Daisypath Anniversary tickers
  • Try your local board. You're going to have to figure out your head count, call venues, and get quotes. There's no magic answer anyone here can give to you.
    Wedding Countdown Ticker
  • I understand. Its just that I dont even know where to start! Also, I am new to this so I didnt know about the XP. I will definately do it next time. Thanks for the input. 
  • Welcome, and congratulations on your engagement! 

The forums here at TK are very different than the website. The Knot is a wedding industry, designed to make money. Their 'top vendors' are the ones who paid the most, etc. So the checklist here on TK is going to be designed to help you spend the most money possible, especially through their website. I didn't really 'do' a checklist when I got married, but some other ladies will certainly be able to direct you to a great one, or give you some ideas.

Most regulars here first suggest setting up a budget with your fiance. It's a great communication builder in addition to laying the foundation for your wedding. Remember, that a wedding does not need to put you in debt, and you shouldn't start off your marriage that way! While you should properly host your guests, you do not need to break the bank for it.