Connecticut

Waterfront venue on a budget... Help!

Hello! I have been looking for a venue to hold my ceremony & reception for a few months now.. I must ask for help!

It's our dream to have our wedding on (or overlooking) a beach, or lake. I'm willing to travel and have been looking at venues in CT, RI, MA, NH, & ME (trying not to go too far north, York is ideal)

I'd prefer to stay away from something traditional or like your normal reception hall or large hotel. I would love to have an outdoor ceremony (but a good backup plan in case of rain) and probably indoor reception. We have a tight budget.. trying to stay around $10,000 Surprised

Maybe a nice restaurant or small inn, as they don't seem as likely to include venue costs? I'm a designer, so I'll be making my invites and decorations to save costs.

Eolia castle was our fave but after the fees it was too expensive.

Anthony's lake club in Danbury, CT is  within our budget but if we can find something on a BEACH so we can continue the party for the weekend with our families, that would really be ideal!!

Please help :)

Re: Waterfront venue on a budget... Help!

• Forgot to add.. the budget is tight and I haven't seen much actually on the beach.

We would be just as happy with a garden type wedding, as long as the venue is in a nice coastal location where we can have a good weekend with family and friends and take a short trip to the beach :)
  • I went on the SAME hunt you are currently going on! After looking at CT and RI I ended up in New Rochelle, NY. They have a strip of venues on the water/beach for a decent price but they are the typical reception hall you said you didn't want. I was going to recommend Anthony's Lake Club because (other than NY) that's honestly the only other do-able place I came across on my search as well. Good luck! 
  • edited May 2013
    Mystic Aquarium - not a beach, but a tank full of water!
    Mystic Seaport- right on the water, not necessarily a "beach"