Not Engaged Yet

It's Scripps Spelling Bee Week!

Okay, so I'm way too excited over this, but here's something else to do tomorrow when you're not here: it's Scripps Spelling Bee Week! (Why yes, Chrome, I spelled that correctly - get rid of the squiggly line.) Anyone else planning to watch/listen at work? 

I heard they've added a vocabulary test this year so the spellers actually have to be able to define the words. I don't know that it would make much of a difference because if you know the spellings of the root words, you already also probably know their definitions and can deduce the definitions of the spelling words. That could be because I studied way too much Latin in high school, and my instructor was huge on derivation.

Re: It's Scripps Spelling Bee Week!

• I did a spelling bee at my elementary school and won. That's the closest I ever got to Scripps. I'm sure there was something else I was supposed to do, but as a kid I was really disorganized (my desk says I still am), and I missed out. Cool that you got so close, Liv, but a bummer to miss out.
  • I usually try to catch the spelling bee if I know it's on. I don't really have an opinion on the vocab part except that there is definitely a difference between being able to spell a word and knowing what it means. It kind of seems like a weird addition to the event though, to me it seems like it's asking the kids to compete on two completely different things (at least in my mind). But I think it adds more value to the competition though...I mean who really cares if you can spell every word in the dictionary but have no idea what it means?

• SwazzleSwazzle member
    First Anniversary First Answer First Comment 5 Love Its
    I spelled 'fifteen' wrong in the spelling bee in 5th grade. 

It still haunts me.

• RWS2011RWS2011 member
    5 Love Its First Anniversary Name Dropper First Comment