Plus-Sized
Options

Need to vent...

So I've been meeting with a couple wedding photographers, trying to see who we clicked with and pricing etc.  Well, last night I sent my mother two photographers who I really liked. My mother disliked both of them.  She couldn't see why they were so expensive (that's a whole other topic right there) and they didn't have any plus sized bride pictures.  Granted when I spoke with both of them I asked if they've ever shot a wedding with a plus sized bride, and they both showed me examples of their work (one has amazing boudoir photos too).  But she made me feel like crap. She was like, well it's different when you have a skinny bride versus your size...etc. Being a photographer myself it's not really that different, it's just about a) making sure everyone is comfortable, and b) knowing how to pose people flatteringly. I'm just SICK and TIRED of every conversation being about the fact that I'm a plus size. UGH! And the hilarious thing, she's not Tiny herself! Though when she got married she did lose a TON of weight--but still.  My mother's opinion means the world to me, and I know she doesn't mean to hurt me, but I'm tired of being defined by my weight. I'm a bride, let me be a bride and not just a "plus sized" bride.  :-( 

On another note: does anyone in the New England (specifically Boston) area have any recommendations on photographers, perhaps that they've used or that they are using?? 

Sorry...just needed to vent. 
Wedding Countdown Ticker

Re: Need to vent...

• Options
                         Your mom may have unrealistic ideas about what good wedding photography costs these days-and it looks like you're in a fairly expensive area. I'd let her do some research herself-she'll come to see that prices are higher than she thinks.