Plus-Sized

So Nervous!

Hello ladies!

I'm a newbie here..recently engaged and I have to say - I have so much anxiety about dress shopping! I've been reading the boards here for some time, and I'm familiar with the designers that are best for us curvy ladies, but I still can't help but feel so scared at the thought of having to go try on dresses. I'm a street size 26, and I have noticed that quite a few designers have dresses that go up to a size 26, which makes me think, what now? I keep hearing that my wedding dress I will most likely have to go up a size or two, but since I'm already at the top, what are my options? I can't really afford to spend a crazy amount of money on a dress, so which designers aren't going to cost me a ton but offer some of the larger sizes? Thanks so much!!

Re: So Nervous!

• DeeDee28x said:
    Hello ladies!

I'm a newbie here..recently engaged and I have to say - I have so much anxiety about dress shopping! I've been reading the boards here for some time, and I'm familiar with the designers that are best for us curvy ladies, but I still can't help but feel so scared at the thought of having to go try on dresses. I'm a street size 26, and I have noticed that quite a few designers have dresses that go up to a size 26, which makes me think, what now? I keep hearing that my wedding dress I will most likely have to go up a size or two, but since I'm already at the top, what are my options? I can't really afford to spend a crazy amount of money on a dress, so which designers aren't going to cost me a ton but offer some of the larger sizes? Thanks so much!!

Alfred Angelo and Mori lee are good, budget minded designers that go up to a size 30-32 (in the $700-1500.00 range), Bonny dresses also go up to that size and are in the same price range.

you can also try going non-bridal store.  Igigi.com and Sydney's Closet has some really gorgeous dresses.  Just pay particular attention to the size chart and return policy.