October 2013 Weddings

Beauty Help

So, I am 5 days away from my wedding and my face has decided to do something crazy. I live in Southern California and we are experiencing high winds right now, but I haven't really been outside much. About 2 days ago my face felt sooo dry, so I have done nothing but drink tons of water and apply and reapply moisturizer. Parts of my face are now peeling. I don't know what to do! I have been using the Clarisonic for about 2 months now, so I keep exfoliating. I have even kept using it the last couple days to help get the dry skin off. I'm terrified that my face will be all red and patchy/peeling for Saturday.

Any suggestions?? I'm willing to try almost anything!

Re: Beauty Help

• I can offer some potential help, I've had a similar problem from time to time when I over-use cleansers on my face; then the moisturizers end up perpetuating the problem - some of those lotions and creams can make irritated skin much worse rather than helping!  Don't use anything primarily petroleum-based if you can help it, sometimes that can instigate more peeling.  I suggest: NIVEA CREME.  This stuff works wonderfully for dry and irritated skin.  Cheap at the drugstore too.  Also, sometimes when my skin is 'overworked' a clay face mask does wonders to kind of reset my skin's moisture balance and texture, so I wonder if that might help you too. 

Wedding Countdown Ticker
  • Lotions and face washes all contain chemicals and crap that, even if they say they are "moisturizing," just ruin and dry out your face.

I know, this might sound totally hippie, but I used to be extremely psycho about face wash and paranoid about all my acne issues and my uneven skin and I swear this is the best thing I've ever done.