Not Engaged Yet

Any ladies popping the question?

I've been lurking around this site for a while, but this is my first post. I love reading everyone else's stories, it's been great to get some insight into the ways other couples are winding their way through the dating and engagement relationships. 

I'm just wondering if there are any other ladies out there who have, or are thinking about, proposing to their BF. My BF, B, and I have been together about two years, living together about 6 months. I'm currently a law student and when I was deciding on where to pursue my degree, he visited all the schools with me and we decided that we would both move together (we had previously been living in Chicago, but I was not looking at schools there). We have talked about marriage in the future, and both seem to be on the same page that we would like to be married to each other at some point. However, neither of us are in any particular hurry, we're still just enjoying living together and experiencing this part of our relationship.  

It has come up a couple of different times, but he's mentioned that he might like it if I propose to him. Now, I'm not opposed to this, I would still like him to ask me, but I like the idea of both of us asking each other. I'm not thinking of doing this in the immediate future (definitely not before this academic year is over--there's just too much going on), but I've been thinking more and more about it as an eventuality- rather than a possibility. Meaning, that I think it is something I do want to do, the problem is that there just isn't as much out there about women proposing to men. So I thought I would post this here and see if you ladies have any insights to offer. 

Have any of you proposed (or know someone who proposed to their BF)?
My BF isn't that into flashy jewelry, but I thought getting a simply band, that he could wear with or as a wedding band later, might be nice too?