Chit Chat

Thanksgiving retail shopping.

2»

Re: Thanksgiving retail shopping.

• I don't like stores being open on Thanksgiving, but I think it's sort of funny that people are so up in arms about it this year. I worked retail 6 or 7 years ago and had to go in at 6:30 am on Thanksgiving. The store opened at 7 with crazy sales and people were lined up before I got there at 6:30. People are so mad and vocal about it this year, but it's been going on for awhile.
  • I am a manager in a major retail company. We are opening at 8pm in thanksgiving. It sucks big time. I dont care how much the store would make, its a holifay and should remain a holiday. I think the store would make the same amount if we open at 6am on friday like stores used to.
    However, I took the job knowing that there was a possibility I would have to work on thanksgiving. I can deal with it. I feel bad for my younger employees that are upset that they have to work instead of being with there families.
    I saw on the news that there was a pizza hut manager that was fired because he was refusing to open on thanksgiving. I am glad he took a stand but I am sorry that he is jobless.
    Wedding Countdown Ticker Visit The Knot!
  • See, I love Black Friday. I've done it since I was a kid with my mom and then with my SIL and now with FI. I have worked Black Friday at Lowe's for 3 years. I actually LOVED working black friday. Everything is high paced and everyone is happy. I'd go shop and then go to work for 6-7 am. I'd be all done buying what I wanted and just enjoying the people enjoying black friday.

I will be out shopping on Thanksgiving this year mainly because it is just me and FI. It's something him and I both enjoy so might as well have fun on what would be another Thursday to us. We're only going to walmart on Thanksgiving though. The rest we'll prob go out around midnight
    Daisypath Wedding tickers