Wedding Invitations & Paper

Invitation Help: Mr. & Dr.

Hello all.. 

I am not exactly sure how to word my invitation, I am a doctor while my FI is not. I have looked up the etiquette on google, they recommend:
Dr. Bridesname and Mr. Groomsname, or Dr. and Mr. Groomsname, or Mr. and Dr. Groomsname. None of them seem to sound right to me.
Thanks for the help :)

Re: Invitation Help: Mr. & Dr.

• I don't think I've ever seen the bride and groom's titles on an invitation. If you don't like the way it's suggested that you've turned up in your search, could you just put your names w/o titles? 

What did you think would happen if you walked up to a group of internet strangers and told them to get shoehorned by their lady doc?~StageManager14
  • There's not a clear cut rule on this one - shows how slow things are to catch up (i.e. it's no longer uncommon for a woman to be a doctor)

If you want to use your title you can, but it is not necessary. You should spell out the entire word doctor if it fits. Technically women are suggested to use there social title - so you would just put your first and middle name if your parents' names are listed above and you share the same last name.

My mother is a medical doctor, but my father is not. How is that worded?
    Traditionally, your mother would use her social title — “Mrs.” — on your wedding invitations, so your parents’ names should read “Mr. and Mrs. Andrew Jay Forrester.”

My fiancé is a doctor. Does his title appear on our invitations?
    Medical doctors properly use their professional titles on wedding invitations, whereas Ph.D.’s do not. Medical degrees, such as M.D. or D.D.S., are never mentioned. They are professional designations that don’t belong on a social invitation. Their use should be reserved for business cards and professional letterheads.