Not Engaged Yet

Worlds Colliding

Hello, I am new to NEY and relatively new to the Knot in general. I was hoping some of you would help me out with a bit of advice. Here is my story:

My SO and I met in Madrid while I was studying abroad there. He is half Spanish and half American but grew up mostly in Asia. While we weren't in the same place very long, he brought up marriage very early in our relationship. (Is this a European thing?) At first I was a bit freaked out since I was a 20 year old college student whose longest relationship was 9 months. However, after I left him and Europe behind, we stayed in contact on and off. It really hurts me sometimes to talk to him simply because I miss him so much and the time zone thing is difficult.
Long distance problems aside, he has brought up engagement again within the past few months. We have the same spring break week off, and he is asking his parents if he could come visit me during that week. His family is fairly wealthy so they could afford to fly him over to the states easily. Also, because of this, I know he could afford to buy a ring before this and pop the question. He's given me "hints" on multiple occasions.

I know this sounds like a fairy-tale story but I'm hoping someone here can see it for the culture clash that it is. If it wasn't for the potential disapproval of my immediate and extended family (I told SO he has to meet my parents before proposing) I would say yes to him, even though I'm considered young by current standards to be getting married (I'm 21). However, I want my family to be there for me during this forever life altering time in my life. 

Thank you in advance!

Re: Worlds Colliding

• phiraphira member
    First Anniversary First Comment First Answer 5 Love Its
    edited February 2014