Chit Chat
Options

More women are "marrying down"

2»

Re: More women are "marrying down"

• Options
    I don't think it really matters much for us. I have a Bachelor's degree and he has high school, and one year of college. When we started dating and moved in together I was making more money, but I'm on maternity now so he brings in more. When I go back to work I will likely make more to begin with but within three or four years he has the potential to earn a lot more should he pursue a specific aspect of his trade. If this works out for him I would love to just stay home and have baby #2, until they are both in full-time school, at least. Our family is what is most important to us so, as long as the bills are paid and everyone is happy, it doesn't matter who brings in what.
  • Options
    FI is marrying down for me. He makes way more then me, has more education, no debt, and comes from a "new money" family.

But if you ask him, he'd say he's marrying up because I'm pretty and wonderful and cosplay at Otakon with him.

We're equals in our relationship.

Anniversary
  • Options
    We're also an engineering couple! My DH has a BS and MS in electrical engineering, but he actually practices as a software technical manager. I do not have a MS, but I have a background in Systems Engineering and am also an engineering manager. We work in the aerospace industry.

• Options
    Right now I'm more educated than my SO. I'll be getting my masters in the Spring but both of us are planning on getting PhDs (he'll probably end up getting his before me!).  I don't think either of us will be marrying down :)

• Options