Students
Options

NWR: How to quit a job gracefully? LONG/Vent

jennyleigh16jennyleigh16 member
First Anniversary 5 Love Its First Comment Name Dropper
edited February 2014 in Students
I could use some advice. Sorry if it's a little long.

I'm a full time student doing online college courses for Human Resources Management. Prior to this I have a graduate certificate in Event Management. I also work 2 "part time" jobs. One is mainly janitorial but pays 2x minimum wage, gives me 40 hours per week, provides opportunities to move up or laterally and I have 9 years of seniority there. The other is a banquet server position at a hotel at minimum wage + gratuities, less than a year, anywhere from 0-30 hours a week. I originally applied to the hotel for an event manager position but was deferred to banquet server due to lack of experience. I took the job hoping to get my foot in the door and move up the ladder. 

Here's where it gets complicated. 

When I signed my contract for the hotel they had me sign a paper saying I'm volunteering to work longer than 8 hour shifts. At the time I wasn't a student so I didn't see any problem with it. The shifts I ended up with are often 10-15 hours and its not uncommon to work 4pm-5am. I went back to school in September and thought I could balance everything. Sooo wrong. I failed a class and lost my marbles frequently. So when I renewed my contract at the end of January I changed that piece of paper to "I can only work 8 hour shifts". They really didn't like that and pulled me into a meeting with my dept head and head of HR to give me shit for it. I refused to change my mind, calmly laid out my logical reasoning (school is my priority, there have been issues with getting time off for exams, etc etc). I'm now persona non grata with my dept head/ the woman who makes my schedule.