Wedding Customs & Traditions Forum

Engagement Ring on Right Hand

Re: Engagement Ring on Right Hand

• Mine aren't soddered together and I haven't had any issues wearing them next to each other.  Not what you asked but wanted to share that you can still wear them together.  Also confused by why they need to be "lined up"?
    Anniversary
  • edited March 2014
  • The word is 'soldered.' If you're going to use it so many times in each post, you might as well spell it right.

My rings are not soldered because on rare occasions I will wear just my band (horseback riding, for example, is more comfortable that way). I have never worn my e-ring on my right hand though, and in fact it would not fit if I tried. Like most people, my dominant hand is a half size larger on each finger than my off-hand.
  • My rings are not soldered and I wear them on my left hand.  I'm a social worker and there is the potential for me to have a job that involves dealing with physical violence, in which case I would only wear my wedding ring for safety reasons.  Another thing you might want to consider is do you plan to have children?  If so it is common to have to take your rings off at some point during the pregnancy.  I found that I could wear my wedding band several more weeks after I took the e-ring off.  I was also able to put the wedding ring back on a few weeks before the e-ring.  If I had them soldered together I would have gone a lot long without wearing them.  My wedding ring only has diamonds part way around and it really doesn't spin that much.  When it does it is not a big deal at all to adjust it.  It has no impact on my life at all.  I think if anything would be uncomfortable it would be having them soldered together.  
    Wedding Countdown Ticker