Pre-wedding Parties

Catering your own bridal shower

Has anyone ever done this before? What are some DOs and DONT's? I told my BM I will cater it myself so they don't have to blow anymore additional money out of their pockets. Plus being a culinary student, I'm actually looking forward to it.

Re: Catering your own bridal shower

• Not appropriate. Be happy with whatever they offer. If that's chips, dip, punch and cake, then that's enough.
  • I am so glad that I am not a "stuck on the rules" type of person.  If the ladies who are hosting for you are OK with you doing the catering, then go for it and enjoy.  I love when people take different options and think creatively, and your BM is probably thrilled that you are such a considerate, selfless bride.  That said, if all are in agreement, then plan the menu together so the hostesses still have some say.
    Wishing you the best of luck and congrats on being such a wonderful person.

• Has anyone ever done this before? What are some DOs and DONT's? I told my BM I will cater it myself so they don't have to blow anymore additional money out of their pockets. Plus being a culinary student, I'm actually looking forward to it.
    If I was your BM I would find that to be extremely rude of you and think that you have no faith in me and what I can plan.

It is rude to have any role in your bridal shower except to show up, smile and thank everyone for the presents.  Be happy with whatever they can provide/plan.  Don't try to micromanage, even if you think you are coming from a good place.

• ElleNguyenElleNguyen member
    First Comment First Anniversary Name Dropper
    edited April 2014
    Well, I always consult with my girls about everything that involves them, I don't just ever do it. They're ok with it and they're actually really appreciative that I'm doing it. We're trying to plan the menu now.
  • @Lauderdale Pink--I'm not either! And thank you.