Wedding Etiquette Forum

Opening gifts at the bridal shower

I have only been to 2 showers before, so I am kind of new to this.  At one shower gifts were opened and at the other gifts were not opened.  I was wondering if I choose not to open gifts at my shower will that be a breach of etiquette??

Re: Opening gifts at the bridal shower

• Yes, you should open gifts at your shower. Since the whole point of the shower is to shower the bride with gifts, you should open them and express your gratitude.
    Anniversary
  • I've never been to a shower where gifts weren't opened. That would strike me as incredibly rude.

• Jen4948Jen4948 member
    First Anniversary First Answer First Comment 5 Love Its
    The whole point of a shower is to give gifts to the bride, groom, or couple.  Not to open them at the shower is not only rude but just doesn't make sense.  If the bride/groom/couple doesn't want to open gifts, they should decline the shower.
  • On any other day when someone brings you a gift, don't you open it in front of them? Gifts should absolutely be opened at showers.
  • Jen4948Jen4948 member
    On any other day when someone brings you a gift, don't you open it in front of them? Gifts should absolutely be opened at showers.
    Actually, no to the bolded.

Gifts certainly need to be opened at showers, Christmas, and birthday parties.  But when given a gift at a time that isn't a gift-giving occasion, you actually need to open it in private.  Nobody who gives you a gift then is entitled to see the look on your face-only to receive a gracious note of thanks.  And at weddings themselves, at least in the US, gifts are not opened at the wedding.
  • Is there a reason why you wouldn't want to open the gifts at your shower?

As a guest I always found watching ppl open gifts to be boring, but after coming to these boards I realized that basically everyone else enjoys it!