Chit Chat

How much (if any) do you contribute to 401k?

My friend asked me what percentage I contribute because apparently people our age (25-30) were talking about it in her lunchroom and scoffed at her for only doing 10%. They all told her it was way too low. I currently do 10% and I thought that was high. Our employer match is 3% so I am taking advantage of that maximum benefit. Just curious how much others contribute as a percentage.

Re: How much (if any) do you contribute to 401k?

• I did 10% when I worked before law school (I was a teacher, so it was a 403(b)).  I'm a recent grad and haven't yet started my new job, so I don't know how much my new place will match yet.  I think that's a big deal-- you are giving up free money if you invest less than your employer will match.  Once you're over the employer match, other types of accounts may give you a better return so that is very personal.
    Wedding Countdown Ticker

"I'm not a rude bitch.  I'm ten rude bitches in a large coat."

• KatWAGKatWAG member
    First Anniversary First Answer First Comment 5 Love Its

I am 29 and do 5% because that is how much my company is willing to match. Honestly, I would put in at least what your company matches so that you can benefit from the "free money"

H puts in a lump sum and the end of the year and he is very fortunate that his company will match whatever he contributions (up to the legal limit)

BabyFruit Ticker
  • I have been fortunate to work places with very generous matches. Right now, I contribute 6% and my employer contributes 5%. At my old job, it was 5%, but the employer matched the 5% at 200% and was fully vested at all times (I know, ridic).

FI contributes a lot to his, but he makes a lot more than me. Once we get married and combine finances, I will start contributing more, but that is about all I can afford at this time.