Wedding Etiquette Forum

Do newborns need a seat at a reception table?

Hi all! While our wedding is adults-only, there will be two newborns there (3-4 months old). Do they need their own chair for a baby carrier or something? Or should I just make sure that the parents are seated at tables with fewer chairs (so there is extra room). We are using long, rectangular banquet tables, so I could always leave off the two chairs at the head of the table for those tables where the infants' parents will be seated.

This is probably a really dumb question, but I have zero baby experience, so I have no clue what I should be planning on. I know I can ask the moms their preference when the date approaches, but right now, neither have had their babies yet, both are first time moms, and I'm kind of thinking they will be as clueless as I am right now. :)

I'd love to hear from anyone that's attended a wedding with a newborn in tow, to let me know how I can be the most accomodating to my new mom guests!

Thanks!

Re: Do newborns need a seat at a reception table?

• I don't have a baby, but I think moms would prefer an extra seat. That way, the baby carrier would be at their level so they don't have to continually lean over (in nice clothes trying to avoid flashing tons of cleavage, keep skirt from riding up depending on what they're wearing) to check on the baby.
  • I think it would be best to have an extra seat for the newborns. I'm sure their parents will appreciate it.
  • Extra seat.

Anniversary
  • It's not necessary to have a seat for a 3-4 mo and it's not really safe to rest the infant car seat carrier on one. But extra space at the table would be great.
  • I would have an extra seat so the parents can put the baby down.  A high chair would be helpful.
  • banana468 said:
    It's not necessary to have a seat for a 3-4 mo and it's not really safe to rest the infant car seat carrier on one. But extra space at the table would be great.