Wedding Etiquette Forum

rhoduim plating? Re-dipping? is this really necessary?

I am new to TheKnot, and recently saw that you should have your ring re-dipped in rhodium? While I did look at a link someone provided, I still want to know if my white gold engagement ring needs to be re-dipped every 6 months to a year like the link said.  I just feel like the jewelry stores are always trying to screw us into spending money where it doesn't need to be spent.  My fiance said the jeweler didn't mention anything about it.  They also talked him into upgrading the prongs holding the diamond on top (its halo w/cushion cut diamond on top) to PLATINUM prongs.  What they failed to tell him is that is more expensive when it comes time to have to re-dip.  I didn't even know about re-dipping until my MOH told me that she had been weaseled into a platinum upgrade, and when she went in to get the scratches fixed by re-dipping (which is when I found out what re-dipping was..lol...) it was waaaay expensive! So any help with regards to this stuff would be appreciated! Thanks< Em

Re: rhoduim plating? Re-dipping? is this really necessary?

• Most prongs are platinum. It's more durable. So you can pay to upgrade to platinum prongs now OR have a higher chance of your diamond falling out because gold prongs are softer. As for rhodium dipping - your white gold ring will fade and yellow. The dipping shouldn't be too expensive. I think most jewelers it is less than $50. You don't HAVE to do it every six months. You can do it when you notice your ring yellowing. But doing it every six months will help keep the ring looking nice.

In short, you don't HAVE to do either of these things. But I don't think either of them are jewelers trying to screw you out of money. 
  • PP is sort of correct but your ring doesn't "yellow".
    My husband has degrees in mechanical engineering and metallurgy and materials engineering so this is what he taught me: