DIY Wedding Forum

DIY Save the Date software

Hey DIY brides,
We got our engagement pictures back (LOVE THEM) and I am now working on creating our save the dates. I want to design them myself, and then just get them printed somewhere. What software have you used and liked in the past? I am on a MacBook Pro, if that makes a difference. Thanks in advance! 
Wedding Countdown Ticker

Re: DIY Save the Date software

• I didn't use a picture for my Save the Dates but created them at work (work at Staples and used one of our postcard template - same setup as Vista Print and you can upload your images). For everything else I'm going with a very simple design and created them myself with Microsoft Word because I'm really good creating things in that program.
  • I'm a designer, so I use Adobe CS5 programs. You can get download a free trial of MS Office for Mac that'll work for about a month. If I were going to use that, I'd create them in MS Word because it's a print-geared program.

Let me know if you need help, or if there's an effect or something you'd want to add on that you can't do in word and I might be able to make it happen with photoshop. (No charge, I just to help.)
    --

I'm the fuck
    out.

• I'm designing my own Save-the-Dates and invitations.

If you have access to Microsoft Office, I'd recommend using Powerpoint over Word. It allows more flexibility in manipulation of text and images in the same space and you can save as a high resolution jpeg so you don't lose any image quality. Also if you don't have access to Photoshop or the like, you can download a free open source program called Gimp. I used it to alter the color of an element of a design I got from Etsy that just wasn't quite right and the seller wouldn't do custom work. I have no design experience and I think they came out really great. Good luck with designing! It's so much fun!
  • I'm designing my own Save-the-Dates and invitations.