Chit Chat

Ikea sheets suck

When we got our new house, Ikea was having a sale on one of their bedroom sets. We got a queen bed frame, side table and dresser all for about $300. Perfect for our guest bedroom. We picked up some bedding while we were there too. The duvet cover is fine, but the $15 sheets. Well, I guess I should have known better, but Ikea always proves itself to be reliable on cheap stuff.

I'm here to warn you- do not buy the cheap Ikea sheets. The more expensive ones are fine- not spectacular, but usable. The cheep sheets are completely useless. They are hard, wrinkle fresh out of the dryer and are lint magnets! 

I've been cringing and using the cheap Ikea sheets now for the past 2 years. We have friends coming in tomorrow, and for some reason, this time around I was too embarrassed to use the sheets. I think it is probably because this is the first of our married couple friends to come visit us. When our single friends visited, I didn't like the Ikea sheets, but I didn't not like them enough to replace them. But this is a married couple. With a house and decorations. 

So, as I was making the bed for them, I broke down about the sheets. I immediately drove to Target. I bought the exact same color sheets but for $50 vs $15 and oh my God are they night and day. I also got a new shower curtain, towels and fixed a frame that wasn't staying up. $100 later I now have the most perfect guest room and guest bathroom ever. Thanks Target! 

Man, guests can be stressful. I'm also a little drunk because it is National Tequila Day. Ole. 

Re: Ikea sheets suck

• I can't wait until a few months from now when I am making bank and we can have nice sheets.  We have a few pairs of sheets now, all of which are the $15 kind from Ikea or Target.  Scratchity scritch scratch.

We used Christmas money to buy a nice duvet cover and a really cheap but cute headboard though, so at least our bed looks nice. :)
    Wedding Countdown Ticker