Outdoor Weddings

Firepits

Forgive me if this has been brought up before, but I'm a newbie (hi there!)

My fiance and I finally found our perfect outdoor venue and are so excited to have a great lawn space for lawn games, a dance floor, and firepits. However, my mom is concerned firepits are a dangerous idea, especially when people have been drinking. My arguement is that people aren't stupid (most of the time) and know they are there, plus there will be chairs around them so people will obviously see them. Has anyone had any experience with firepits at weddings? I really love this idea for people who aren't in to dancing and just wanna chill out... plus, s'mores!!!! My fiance doesn't really care about this so now it's just a battle between my mom and myself.

Re: Firepits

• Forgive me if this has been brought up before, but I'm a newbie (hi there!)

My fiance and I finally found our perfect outdoor venue and are so excited to have a great lawn space for lawn games, a dance floor, and firepits. However, my mom is concerned firepits are a dangerous idea, especially when people have been drinking. My arguement is that people aren't stupid (most of the time) and know they are there, plus there will be chairs around them so people will obviously see them. Has anyone had any experience with firepits at weddings? I really love this idea for people who aren't in to dancing and just wanna chill out... plus, s'mores!!!! My fiance doesn't really care about this so now it's just a battle between my mom and myself.
    LOL it's rare when I'm standing around a fire pit without a drink in my hand. I think your mom is worrying over much; unless you are going to make sure there are no steep stairs, no potential projectiles, nothing to ever trip over, etc. There are all sorts of hazards for stupid drunks.

If you're worried, ask your venue staff how it normally goes and if they will have someone on hand to keep an eye on the area.