Budget Weddings Forum

Is it okay...

To accept help if people offer. I didn't know how many people in my life have been wedding planners, caterers and photographers. These are people on the guest list mainly - maybe 2 exceptions. Is it alright to accept especially if I pay expenses. I can pay food expenses. It looks like I can print most decorations at home.

Re: Is it okay...

• edited August 2014
    Be careful on this one. Accepting help is one thing, having other people actually work your wedding is another. Food and expenses is not payment. I'm a photographer, and it's been known to come out of my mouth that I would help, be it a sense of obligation, or an over-achieving personality. But when I offer help, I do not mean free. I mean I will offer you my best deal and make sure you are taken care of properly.
    So yes, accept help from friends that offer - but expect to pay them for time and services they are providing to you on their day. (+ expenses)

Just to give you an example... If it's a friends wedding and I'm going above and beyond I take charge of the photography. I'm there early, they'll do a first look, I'll shoot all the set up, ceremony, post we'd photos with all their friends and family, and reception. I'll be working all day to get the same plate of food I would have gotten as a non-working guest. Then I go home and I spend the next 40 hours times 3 weeks editing your photos so you have a beautiful finished product that I would be happy to have my name associated with. So for 128 hours of work you think paying for me to be able to work, and the food while I'm there is enough? That is not how you treat friends.