Wedding Reception Forum

No music okay?

edited September 2014 in Wedding Reception Forum
Hi I'm new to this wedding planning thing and have soo many questions! What do you do about music when it comes to walking down the aisle if the ceremony is outdoors. It will be just me walking alone and I will probably be nervous. Have anyone done an outside ceremony? If so did you have any type of music to announce the bride was coming? If it was only you and no bridesmaids how did you let the guests know it was time. Thanks.

Re: No music okay?

• Hi!

What if you had your officiant announce you? I have been to outdoor ceremonies and they had music.

Daisypath Anniversary tickers Daisypath Anniversary tickers

• Are you not having music because you don't want music or because you just can't figure out the logistics of having music outdoors?

If it's logistics:
    My one friend hired her friend as DJ and the ceremony took place next to the reception space (both outdoors), so they had rented speakers as part of the DJ set up and an iPod playing music as people took their seats, with the DJ queuing up the appropriate song as she took to the head of the aisle.

Another friend hired a guitarist she knows from church and walked down to the acoustic guitar playing.

If it's you don't want it:
    I'd maybe reconsider and go with finding a guitarist or violinist to play if you really are that nervous/anxious.  It's not even a matter of "how will the guests know?" cause they'll figure it out once all the people up front are in place and looking expectantly back at you taking your spot at the beginning of the aisle, but more that I think not having the ambient noise that the music will provide will likely just amplify your nervousness of walking down the aisle, particularly alone.