October 2014 Weddings
Options

Who is writing their own vows?

How many of you are writing your own vows? I'm just getting started on mine!  I just have one question for the ceremony. My cousin is marrying us and he wrote the script for the ceremony but we are trying to come up with a way to lead into our vows? I'm not sure what he should say and every wedding I have been to it has been the traditional wedding vows. How are your writing your ceremony script with our own vows?

Re: Who is writing their own vows?

• Options
    my dad is officiating and i wrote the script.... instead of us writing our own vows, we're doing a hawaiian lei ceremony..... my advice is to go with the vibe of the ceremony - if it's formal, you can have the officiant say something like "the couple has written their own vows".... or if it's informal, have a quick intro.... play around with it and see what feels right!
  • Options
    We are writing our own vows.  I came across a reading, however, that I loved and when I shared it with my FI, he teared up and said, "That's it. That's the one."  It's called "Union" by Robert Fulghum.
    It's kind of a perfect introduction, I think, to the vows so we are going to have our Officiant do the reading and then immediately afterwards, FI and I will make our vows to one another.  There are quite a few great readings I've found that would serve that purpose, too, but the particular one I just mentioned really just personally spoke to us so we chose it for our ceremony.

If you don't want to do a reading though, as leideigh mentioned, you can just have your cousin say something like, "At this time hudsons and XX would like to share with you the vows that they've written for each other," and then just go!