Honeymoon Discussions

Where did YOU honeymoon?

edited September 2014 in Honeymoon Discussions
I'm marrying a foreigner in November 2015.  Because of Visa technicalities, we may be limited by where we choose Honeymoon to  because he can't leave the US for a certain time after being approved.

So I'm looking for any suggestions for a US honeymoon.  Hawaii is an option... but is kind of cliche and not quite our speed.

Where have you Honeymooned in the United States?

ETA: I'm a CA resident and have lived this lifestyle for 26 years - Disneyland and SoCal beaches are not quite what I'm looking for :)

Thanks in advance!
Wedding Countdown Ticker

Re: Where did YOU honeymoon?

• Well this wasn't our honeymoon but a few months ago just for the hell of it, we went to Sedona, AZ. It's absolutely stunning with the Red Rocks and Canyons and hiking trails. We stayed at the cutest bed & breakfast in the whole world, it looked like an HGTV magazine spread- soooo gorgeous. I've never stayed in a B&B before, I normally like big 5 star hotels but it was probably my favorite place I've ever stayed. So calm, outdoorsy, relaxing. We also drove up to the Grand Canyon and Vegas (stayed in Vegas did not return to AZ). 

• lurkergirllurkergirl member
    First Anniversary First Comment 5 Love Its First Answer
    edited October 2014
    U.S. Virgin Islands

Maine/New England Coast

Charleston, SC

New Orleans

Florida Keys

ETA: Sadly, I did not actually vacation in all those places.  Just suggestions I liked when I did a Google search :)

• Yes, we spent part of our honeymoon in the Adirondacks in upstate New York. We then went up to Montreal, but you could easily stay in the States. 

We also recently vacationed in Palm Springs, CA, and it was so fun and relaxing, though I see that might not be far enough afield for you.

What do you like to do? City, museums, restaurants, beach, hiking, lounging in the pool, historic sites? The US is huge and there are tons of options.