DIY Wedding Forum

Bullet Shell Boutonniere

Hey, just looking for some feedback. This is my first attempt. I took a bullet shell and wrapped part of it in twine and added flowers. Voila! Does it need anything else? I was planning on having another bud/small flower but I really don't think there is room. Let me know what you think! Thanks :)

Re: Bullet Shell Boutonniere

• It needs some short white puffy flowers to soften it. I'd use real babys breath instead of the green thing.
  • Thanks. I was actually toying with that idea myself! :) I'll have to pick some up and see what it looks like. It just looks kind of blah. He's a very plain man though and I had a hard enough time trying to convince him to pin a flower on his chest :P

• Do you really need to use a bullet shell?
  • emster86emster86 member
    5 Love Its First Comment Name Dropper
    edited October 2014
    I thought it was a cute idea so yes! I'll attach some inspiration photos.
    imageimageThe one above is a shotgun shell.. maybe I'd have more room if I used one of those? There's not much space when using the shell I have to add flowers/feathers.

• Fiance is a hunter and we live in rural PA. That should pretty much sum it up. 

• Okay, that makes sense. I see bullets and think drive by and murder, not outdoor sports. 
    Different neighborhoods!  ;)
  • haha I'd say SO! jeeze!

• Maybe not so much twine?  Or is it possible to use a bigger flower? Or even tie two shells together so you can fit more in it, kind of like this:
    Unique Boutonniere - Shotgun Shell and Bullet Boutonniere - Rose and Dendrobium Orchid - Wedding Flowers - Avenue Blooms | Fort Collins, CO
  • I love the idea. My husband would have loved this. Guns are a big hobby for him. I do think though, that the flower should be bigger and should be the focal point. I like that first picture in emster86's inspiration post.
  • edited June 2015