Chit Chat

Oh boy... here we go

So yesterday I found out that one of FI's best friends proposed to his girlfriend. Yay! They've been together for over 5 years, and they are both great people. I honestly cried when I found out they were engaged! 

I didn't want to bombard her right off the bat, because I remember when I first got engaged I had a lot of phone calls to make and I was getting so so so many texts. I decided to just send her a facebook message so that I wouldn't steal her phone time, if that even makes sense lol. 

The message was just to say congratulations and if she wanted to ask me anything about planning to feel free, not that I'm an expert but I would love to help and offer whatever advice I could. She messaged me back right away and we started chatting back and forth. She mentioned she had "plenty of time" so she didn't need to start planning right away, but then mentioned she wanted her wedding to be right after mine. This kind of set off alarm bells. I was like "Wait a minute... my wedding is in less than six months... and she just said she didn't need to start planning anything!" Oh no! I didn't want to overwhelm her, but I said that she should probably start looking for her dress soon because they can take 6 to 8 months to order sometimes. I also told her she should start looking at venues ASAP because a lot of venues book out a year in advance (ours books out nearly TWO years in advance! That's why we'll have been engaged for more than a year and a half by the time our wedding rolls around.) 

She was really shocked to hear this, and didn't know where to start. I said to just figure out a budget first, she already has a general date so that's good, then the venue and dress. Then a caterer.