Wedding Etiquette Forum
Options

Engagment party but no reception

Hi everyone, I am new to this discussion forum. My fiancé and I got engaged last January and we were saving for a big wedding this September. We actually hosted an engagement party last November but we recently decided that a big wedding wasn't what we wanted. We were only planning for a larger wedding because my mom absolutely refused to be a part of our big day if we had gone with a destination wedding like we originally planned. So now, being less than 9 months away from our BIG day we want to cancel everything and just do a small intimate wedding with close family and a few good friends and maybe have a dinner somewhere with a few good people to celebrate. My concern is that we will have to invite the people we invited to our engagement party. I just want to know if its bad etiquette to not invite everyone. Has anyone had this same problem?

Re: Engagment party but no reception

• Options
    Cessi02 said:
    Hi everyone, I am new to this discussion forum. My fiancé and I got engaged last January and we were saving for a big wedding this September. We actually hosted an engagement party last November but we recently decided that a big wedding wasn't what we wanted. We were only planning for a larger wedding because my mom absolutely refused to be a part of our big day if we had gone with a destination wedding like we originally planned. So now, being less than 9 months away from our BIG day we want to cancel everything and just do a small intimate wedding with close family and a few good friends and maybe have a dinner somewhere with a few good people to celebrate. My concern is that we will have to invite the people we invited to our engagement party. I just want to know if its bad etiquette to not invite everyone. Has anyone had this same problem?