DIY Wedding Forum
Options

DIY flowers : I need all the help I can get!

I am doing ALL my own flowers for my wedding. As of right now, I am wanting to use baby's breath, blue hydrangeas, and orange gerbera daisies.  My bouquet will be filled with all three flowers, the MOH will have baby's breath and gerbera daisies and my three BM will just have baby's breath. My groom with have a gerbera daisy boutonniere but his 4 GM with have just babys breath. Also I will need 6 corsages with mainly babys breath and gerbera daisies. I am also doing 30 centerpieces but they will all just be babys breath.

I need all the advice I can get because I've never done flowers before but will be saving a lot of money doing them myself and I'm very crafty!  

Re: DIY flowers : I need all the help I can get!

• Options
    I made my BM bouquets. I also just did flowers (arrangements, bouquets, boutonnieres) for my friend's wedding this past weekend to help her out. 

Tutorials are your best friend!

My tips:
    • Don't submerge the stems completely in water because then they will be wet & floral tape will not stick to them. I learned this the hard way when I did my BM bouquets for my own wedding. 
    • Use plenty of floral tape! Arrange a few stems, wrap, then add, then wrap & repeat. 
    • Make the bouquets & bouts the day of. They will be much fresher and it shouldn't take much time (I did my four BM bouquets while we were getting ready). This should be simple since the BM bouquets are just made of baby's breath.
    Good luck!
  • Options
    Have you ordered your flowers? My mom and aunts are doing my centerpieces and some vases of flowers around the reception area. I am ordering the flowers from Globalroses. they have great flowers and good prices.
    Wedding Countdown Ticker
  • Options
    My wedding hasn't happened yet, but I've been playing with flowers
    ElcaB said: