Chit Chat

NWR: How long is your resume?

I'm helping a friend edit her resume and cover letters and it got me to thinking. I'm an attorney, and all through law school we were told that your resume cannot be longer than a page. We even had people tell us "We throw away the second page and don't look at it."

My friend's is two full pages, and she only has two years of post-college job experience. I know it's different if you have decades of experience/many post-grad degrees/lots of publications, but is this one-page rule really a thing in other industries/geographic locations?

Wedding Countdown Ticker

Re: NWR: How long is your resume?

• edited February 2015
    It is here (ETA and I got the same guidance in business school). If I see multi-page résumés with less than like 20 years of experience, I just assume you're full of yourself and a terrible editor.

• I say always one page, unless you a really compelling reason to do otherwise. Two years of experience isn't compelling. 

I think there are certain industries with certain types of resumes where it's more acceptable, but they still only want a brief intro with a lot of relevance. 

Resume isn't the place for every detail about your life. The cover letter can provide more detail and really if they want more info, that's what the interview is for. 
  • Well, this won't help much because we're in the same field. But mine is only a page for that same reason. I think the only thing that should make it longer than a page is a list of publications or various schools where you have worked as a professor. Or I guess degrees, but how many degrees could you possibly have? If I can fit multiple jobs and two law schools, you can fit an extra Masters or PhD in there. 
    Wedding Countdown Ticker

"I'm not a rude bitch.  I'm ten rude bitches in a large coat."

• Tell her to delete the stuff from high school because there is no way she has 2 pages worth of stuff from two years out of college
    Wedding Countdown Ticker