Wedding Photography and Videography Forum

Photographer hiring photographers :-/

I'm a photographer, so hiring a photographer for MY wedding is killing me!! There's very few photographers I like that are available for the day. The one photographer I was referred to by 2 friends who recently married. She charged them $300 and they were given a CD with images and print-release. I contacted this photographer and she wants to charge me $6,000 and I have to order prints! I'm pretty sure she's just jacking up her prices because of my name.
I wanted to ask the local college for some photography students, but the photography teacher is someone new and said that I was trying to advertise and it wouldn't be allowed!
Any other tips on where to find an affordable photographer? I was thinking of asking friends, but none of them really take "amazing" pics :-( My sister and cousin do, but they're both part of the wedding party.

Re: Photographer hiring photographers :-/

• We had the same problem. FI didn't want to hire anyone because he wanted editing rights. He ended up contacting a well known photog he went to school with and she gave us a really good deal because we are having a private wedding in the middle of the week. Is there any way you can reach out to the photog community and see if someone would be willing to do something similar for your pics? What about having FI contact the photogs and leave your name out of it? Good luck!